How do I perform a SYNC®* master reset?

A SYNC master reset erases all stored data, such as call history, text messages, previously paired phone, navigation favorites, and modem activation. We recommend that you perform a master reset:

  • Before selling or transferring ownership.
  • After purchasing or leasing a pre-owned vehicle.
  • Before and after renting a vehicle.

Important: Performing a master reset for SYNC 4 will make all subscriptions (Navigation, BlueCruise, etc.) unavailable for up to ten days.

To get started, select your SYNC version from the list below to learn how to perform a master reset. Identify your SYNC version here.


*Don’t drive while distracted. Use voice-operated systems when possible; don’t use handheld devices while driving. Some features may be locked out while the vehicle is in gear. Not all features are compatible with all phones.